Starting a New Book

With my focus on reducing entertainment screen time, on changing my diet, and on exercising, I am finding that I am reading again. The most recent book I tossed in my bag for reading on the T during my commute, Rethinking Popular Media and Culture edited by Elizabeth Marshall and Ozlem Sensoy, has been sitting on my pile for quite a while. I am passionate about teaching media literacy, and every publication I have used from the Rethinking Schools organization has been excellent. Already I am hooked on this book after 40 pages. The first section is titled, “Study the Relationship Among Corporations, Youth, and Schooling.”

I think it is imperative for technology teachers to be acutely aware of media literacy issues because they are so embedded in content to which we provide access.

Leave a Reply

