Using Others’ Tech

The most common corollary to being a tech person is the fairly constant requests to help others with their tech issues. Another one, more infrequent in my experience, is the need to get others’ personal tech gear up to working order to get something accomplished. Sure, we often have to troubleshoot equipment when using it for a presentation or for some other reason connected to our jobs, but the obstacles put up by others’ private gear is there, too.

I am currently visiting my parents, and I spent a better part of the morning getting their scanner to work. I remember this was a challenge before when my wife wanted to scan something. Evidently, whatever we did then did not take, and the scanner was not working this time. After much mucking around, I finally got it back on line and got my task completed.

How far do people go to fix others’ equipment to meet personal needs?

Leave a Reply

