Gearing Up

The classic scene in action films: Batman getting his suit on for the first time, Rambo painting his face before battling unbelievable odds, the hero gearing up. I’m not a hero, and I am certainly not going into battle tomorrow. Yet, I am doing something I have never done before; I am attending Edcamp Boston. Tonight, I’ll lay out my tools: the tablet, the case, the stylus, the chargers. Which bag? What extras? Should I go light or heavy? These things that I put together to be my kit are the familiar tools I will use to help make sense of the experience and to provide a grounding in what I anticipate to be an experience that pushes me outside my comfort zone in a healthy way.

As a teacher, I regularly seek out opportunities to learn and to be well outside my comfort zone. As adults we tend to avoid or judiciously limit our time spent in the discomfort of uncertainty. As educators, however, it is important to reacquaint ourselves with the feelings and emotions that come with the uncertainty of learning.

One Comment on “Gearing Up”

  1. stlgeekwoman says:

    So great you are doing this. One of the best ways to stay truly alive–challenge your mind. It sounds like fun.


Leave a Reply

