The Evernoting Story 2

Just like all movies, good and bad, have the potential for a sequel, here is mine.

Today, I messed around with the Evernote iPad app that is somewhat limited. It can’t make new notebooks. However, I did play with the voice recording and typing at the same time. Wow, I could see some really great uses for this. I have decided that I will stay with Delicious for my bookmarks. I like the stacks, and I don’t really want to write copious amounts of notes or do voice annotations on web bookmarks. My task lists either will live in Wunderlist or in SpringPad. I think personal in Wunderlist and work ones in SpringPad where I will use the project management tools.

What does that leave? The first thing that comes to mind is that this is a great tool for digital portfolios! Being able to snap photos of work and put them in different notebooks, have students write or dictate reflections, and see it on any platform certainly lends itself to portfolios. I have already read several articles and talked to Ivan Nieves at Concord Academy about just this process.

What else? The web clipping tool would be great for research. Creating notebooks with the clips rather than bookmarks along with notes, photos, and other stuff could be a good use. I also see using Evernote as a good place to do the expansion at the beginning of a project when I am gathering lots of info. I can dump it in one place, sort through it, and then begin to focus. I don’t know if it will serve as well for that part; that is where I’d probably switch over to SpringPad. I’ll have to use it on my next big project to find out.

One Comment on “The Evernoting Story 2”

  1. ucitykid88 says:

    It’s funny, but I’d downloaded Evernote about 6-9 months ago but really hadn’t figured out a way to use it for anything. I was busy reconfiguring the way that I was doing business and I started to create and revive larger projects.

    Then, for some reason, just about 2 days before your post, I opened up the app again and I started to look at what it could do. I put it on all my computers and devices, and I realized that it’s a perfect thing for me to use when balancing the ideas that I’m working on and the media for my documentary, potential blog posts, and video/audio production business schedules.

    I’ve started using the voice memo thingy for some ideas on some projects, and I’ve used the combination of web clipping and Instapaper (a new favorite of mine), to group potential references to articles I might use in future blog posts. It’ll be ubiquitous across all of my platforms so that I can pull them up wherever it is that I decide to compose and publish what ever bit of info that I post.

    I really think that I’m going to like using Evernote. I don’t know if I’ll need to upgrade past the free data limit, but since I’ll probably be posting pics and such, I might need it. I agree that some of the interfaces are clunky and lacking on the iPhone/iPad app, but I hope that can be worked out in the future. Also, they have some issues on getting the plug-ins installed on Safari, but I worked my way through it.

    We’ll see how this goes with all my projects, but I’m pretty hopeful now.


Leave a Reply

